The Dutch physics research field has defined itself into five research communities, which is also embraced by the Dutch Physics Council. It covers areas where Dutch physics is strong and has the future potential to play a major role in scientific and societal challenges. The research communities connect physicists and promote collaboration with other disciplines.

The five research communities are the following: